Tags

, , , , ,

Well I had an extra special Valentine’s Day yesterday! 

 Much to my complete shock (had to clean and check my lopsided glasses), I discovered An Irish Village Pantry was nominated in the Irish Blog Awards.  Two categories  Best newcomer and Best Food & Drink.  The company I am keeping with other nominated blogs is a scroll of fabulous talent, some of whom inspired me six months ago to jump off the deep end and nervously start blogging. So, needless to say I’m humbled just to be nominated, and the best of luck to all in every category, especially the hard-working new Irish Food Bloggers Association.

This is a recipe for a fast all in one apple cake and one that morphed from an apple sponge recipe years ago. Where I got that from I don’t honestly remember, so when I’m not in any humour to make pastry for apple pie or apple tart, whichever you prefer to call it (you say tomAto/I say tomaato), this recipe or simple apple crumble is always the other option. It’s moist, keeps for three days in a container and can be baked either as a loaf and spread with cinnamon or mixed spice butter.  For some reason unknown to myself, I tend to make this on Sundays – why is anyone’s guess, although it could be an Irish thing and childhood nostalgia.  Following the Sunday roast dinner, traditionally an apple tart or trifle would have graced many a kitsch table, after all had been spruced and bruced previously from the saturday night bath and dressed in their best 1970′s nylon or corduroy attire  for mass that morning.

Apple Teacake

300g / 3 medium cooking apples

8 oz plain flour

6 oz caster sugar

4 oz margarine/butter

1 medium egg

1/2 tsp cinnamon

milk to mix

Pre-heat the oven to 190C

Grease well a loaf tin if using or a flan tin.

Peel, core and either grate the apple or whizz in a food processor until fine.

Sieve the flour and cinnamon, rub in the margarine with fingertips until like breadcrumbs.  Add the sugar.

Stir in the apple and egg and mix well with a wooden spoon.

If too dry add  two or three tablespoons of milk, the batter should be a heavy dropping consistency, similar to a madeira cake mix.

Pour into a tin and bake for forty minutes, letting cool for fifteen to twenty minutes before eating.

Serve with whipped cream or spread with cinnamon butter.  Soften at room temperature two ounces of butter and to it mix half a teaspoon of ground cinnamon with a fork.

Enjoy x

 

