Tags

, , , , , , ,

Today is one of those days that I want to bung something in the oven for dinner and forget about it while I get on with boring house chores.  I want convenience but not something from a packaged box in the freezer.  So what can be more convenient or finger licking, lip smacking good than a simple roast chicken?  I enlisted the assistance of my baby girl for this ( a.k.a Lil Diva – or she who must be obeyed) to keep her busy for a while and break up WW3 in the playroom.  My 7yr old Lil Man was exhausted being chased around, threatened with lipstick.

Elizabeth David doesn’t mess around.  And I’m not in the mood for a recipe that messes me around.  I would never mess around with an Elizabeth David recipe.  So I’m not going to mess you around.  If there was a statue of Elizabeth David I think I would have it on my kitchen windowsill, much like old-fashioned Irish housewives have the ‘Child of Prague’  statue with a penny underneath.  I would put a pinch of herbs under mine.  This is from ‘At Elizabeth David’s Table’.  Highly recommended.

You will Need -

A 1 kg plump Roasting Chicken

30g /1oz butter

1 tbsp dried tarragon

half clove chopped garlic

pinch salt & pepper

olive oil

To Do -

Pre-heat the oven to 200C.

With a fork mix the butter with the tarragon, garlic and salt and pepper. It’s easier to mix if the butter is at room temperature.

Place this inside the bird, or if you didn’t read the instructions right like me, and through force of habit, put it under the skin of the breast.

Actually makes the bird extra buttery and tender.

Drizzle a little olive oil over the chicken and sprinkle with some salt.

Put into the oven on its side for 45 minutes, turning over at half-time.

Why on its side like a baby Mammy?  I honestly don’t know.  But as above I don’t mess with Elizabeth David.

Check it’s cooked as ovens vary.

Serve with yummy crunchy roast potatoes.

Enjoy!

Sheelagh x

I’m sending this over to Ren at Fabulicious Food for Family Friendly Fridays