Tags

, , , , , , ,

There was a birthday in the cottage this week, so the children’s choice as always is this Decadent Chocolate Cake.  I did suggest Nigel Slater’s Beetroot Chocolate Cake but little noses were pulled askew and jaws hit the floor, especially by my other half, the birthday boy.

“What! Those red things we grow in the garden?!”

Many concerned side glances were a given me throughout the day.

She needs to get out of the kitchen more, confiscate the cookbooks  aprons and check for fever.

I had an ulterior motive though, as I’ve been meaning to enter the We Should Cocoa challenge for ages.  The theme this month is savoury and hosted by the lovely Choclette over at the chocolicious Chocolate Log Blog.  Well there’s always next month even if I have to eat cake by myself - purely of course for quality control.

This is also the same recipe I used as the base tier for my sister’s wedding cake I made last year and has been requested by my lovely other sister who is recently engaged and getting married this summer! It’s a rich delicious cake and the ground almonds keep it moist and crumbly.  I covered it in white chocolate ganache, which is the same frosting Catherine Leyden uses in the recipe below, just substitute the plain dark chocolate for white chocolate and double the quantity. A perfect celebration cake for Valentine’s, birthdays or weddings.

Catherine Leyden at Odlums Decadent Chocolate Cake recipe you can find here..

At the suggestion of Brownieville Girl I’m sending this over to What Kate Baked who is co-host with Lavender and Lovage  for the monthly Tea-Time Treats Challenge.  Kate is hosting this month’s theme of Romance, well worth a look. 

Also sending it to Very Good Recipes for Be My Valentine Challenge too.

Sheelagh x.

Also got featured as this week’s Featured Food Blogger with BlogHer, which has a readership of 37 million. Thank you Genie.

