Tags

, , , , , ,

 I got the idea for this recipe T2J5MBHH48HG from Sophie who reminded me of this type of old-fashioned bread of my childhood.    I detested it then and would methodically pick out every raisin or sultana from the slice as we used to call them ‘dead flies’, so by the time we were finished we would be left with a plate of crumbs and butterfingers.  Now as a grown up (?) I love this bread with its slightly chewy texture and plump tea soaked sultanas, served alongside a pot of Green Tea.  Toasted it makes for an alternative breakfast option either. The other healthyish advantage is it contains no fat, as in no margarine or butter, adding the butter to the slice is entirely up to you when it’s baked!I searched high and low for a dog-eared old little cookbook that held a recipe my Mother used to bake teabread from, but to no avail, although I’m sure it’ll turn up when I’m not looking for it, as things usually do.  So I played around with measurements and came up with this hybrid loaf which uses Green Tea instead of ordinary tea and it turned out absolutely delicious.  I love Green Tea and try to incorporate it into dishes whenever I get the chance as it’s so healthy and full of antioxidants.  You can use whichever tea you prefer and experiment a little with fruit or herbal teas for a different flavour combination if you like.  T2J5MBHH48HG The main tradition with this bread involves soaking the fruit overnight in cold tea.

You Will Need -

250g sultanas

25g dried mixed peel

25g crystallized ginger chopped finely or 1 tsp dried ginger

150g light brown sugar

1 tbsp treacle

270ml Cold Green Tea using 2 tea bags

1 egg

225g self-raising flour

1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda

1 tsp mixed spice

To Do -

Make the tea, add the treacle stirring well and leave to go cold. 

In a large bowl place the sultanas, mixed peel, ginger and sugar and add the cold tea.  Cover and leave overnight.

Pre-heat the oven to 180C. 

Line a 2 lb loaf tin with greaseproof paper or baking parchment, or use a liner.

Sift the flour, bread soda and spice into the soaked bowl of fruit and tea, add the egg and mix well.

Turn into the lined tin and bake for 1 hr to 1 hr and 10 minutes. 

Leave to cool in the tin for 30 minutes before turning out.

Keeps for 4 – 5 days in an airtight tin.

Enjoy!

Sheelagh.

 

 

 

