Tags

, , , ,

Four seasons in one day. 

Beautiful Irish weather. 

As an Irish woman, Mother and wife packing for a family holiday within Ireland involves strategic planning, facilitation skills and logistics.  All vacuum packed into 3 suitcases in what my Father calls a girls city shopping car. 

It’s been a while since I lived in a city, so after giving away, for a song,  my Honda 4 x 4 in the country in which I could have fitted my kitchen sink in the boot, this internal family holiday with my city car was without doubt a challenge.  Look, I have never been a refugee from the country adopting the princess ‘D4‘ attitude and accent. 

Ireland has developed a strange breed of non-Dublin Irish born immigrants who developed the Howth accent more colloquial than Howth natives themselves during the boom years and it’s roots probably born within the Yuppie years and bless these country folk for not feeling worthy.

Being more a post Corkonian and London student I now have the ability to laugh at myself back then thinking I was a tremendous intellectual with ‘100 Years of Solitude’ bible by Marquez constantly in my rucksack with its wife (ouch) ‘The Green Room’ by Marilyn French.

However I did lose the weekend accent. Yes false accents are a pet hate, you might have gathered. I’m digressing. Tsk.

I had been used to packing a rucksack practically for essentials, if you can imagine the bohemian hippie student writer type.

Not.

Well not really.

Below is part of the four pages of lists I made to visit a Wexford holiday house for one week, if it is of any help to any souls. 

I thought it would get easier after having two babies under 12 months a few years ago and of course it has, although we didn’t bother with a family holiday in those early years…..

If you need to ask why – here’s a non patronising smile :-) 

We did have a fabulous time though with crab fishing in Cahore really being the highlight. Lil Diva screaming on the pier after catching her first crab and entertaining the crowds when it escaped and chased her slowly..

Rugrat Angelica vocals.

Children X 2

  • Wellies
  • Kangaroo Raincoats
  • Wetsuits
  • 16 pants and socks
  • Welly Socks
  • Sandals
  • Trainers / Runners
  • Good Shoes
  • 6 Pairs Shorts
  • 6 T-shirts
  • 4 Fleece Hoodies
  • Summer PJ’s
  • Winter PJ’s
  • Winter bedsocks
  • Dress outfits
  • Wetsuits
  • Swimsuits
  • Floats, armbands, surfgear
  • Teddies, dollies, dollies dresses
  • Hairbands, brushes, clips
  • Toiletries, suncream
  • DS3, games, books, crayons
  • DVD’s
  • Lego
  • jigsaws
  • Buckets, spades, sun hats
  • Medications & thermometer
  • (The – ‘Ive a feeling I’ve forgotten something important)

Mammy & Daddy

  • Whatever room is left in the boot
  • Hardline essentials

Sheelagh x

