Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It was one of those moments when I had these for the first time today!

I can’t believe I have always bypassed baking these in favour of shortbread over the years, always thinking they were inferior or too fiddlesome to try.  Boy are these good with a cuppa.  Yet another noticeable attribute I am finding about myself lately in my thirties is that I am starting to really enjoy more tea.  Coffee is still my engine fuel for the mornings, but there is something refreshing and comforting about a mug of builders strength (or strong enough to dance a jig on as my Nanny used to say) tea.  When I was a child my entire adult family on both sides, north and south, with the exception of maybe one, drank the stuff by the gallon load, and it was the cure-all, bee-all and end-all beverage.  Tea for breakfast, tea for elevenses and in-between, tea for lunch, brunch, mid-afternoon, after dinner, at the evening news and before bed.  Tea when visiting relations, before leaving relations and when we got home from relations.  It was like a 1970’s reality version of Fr Ted and Mrs Doyle and three of my Great Aunts were priests housekeepers too!  No wonder at 13 I’d had ENOUGH TEA and horror upon horror the rebel demanded coffee. So, it must be progressing age that is causing this shift in my taste buds, but sure doesn’t  life comes full circle eventually anyway? 

I drearily digress, this isn’t a post about tea so back to these amazing crumbly little treats.  I love Bill Granger and his straightforward fresh approach to food.  These little biscuits were a recipe of his Aunt’s excluding the custard powder and I heartily thank her.  Another recipe for the definite ‘make again’ notebook.  I have used bought Lemon Curd as a filling instead of passion fruit buttercream as in the book, only because I didn’t have passionfruit and not enough time to make curd before the children came home from school.  Also I zinged up the level of citrus in the curd by adding a tablespoon of lemon juice to it as the shop bought varieties can be too sweet sometimes.  These take five minutes to make and 15 to bake.  So put on the kettle and turn on the oven and have yourself a moment. – (ouch, sounds like a cheesy marketing catchphrase)

Adapted from ‘Holiday’ by Bill Granger

Lemon Curd Melting Moments

makes about 15

250g butter/margarine

60g icing sugar

225g plain flour

80g cornflour

Filling

15 tsp Lemon Curd

1 tbsp lemon juice

To Do

Pre-heat oven to 170C and line 2 trays with baking or greaseproof paper

With an electric beater, mixer or by hand whisk the sugar and butter until pale and fluffy.

In a seperate bowl sieve the flour and cornflour.

Add the flours to the butter and sugar and beat for a moment until combined.

With lightly floured hands roll into 28-30 balls and place 5cm apart on a tray.  They don’t spread very much at all.

Flatten slightly with a fork and bake for 15-18 mins.

Cool on a wire rack and when completely cold put a teaspoonful on half of the biscuits and then sandwich together.

Dust with icing sugar and enjoy!

In other news– I am a finalist in the Newcomer category in the Irish Blog Awards!!!  There is very stiff competition from outstanding blogs in my category, but I would like to  thank  Damien Mulley, the judges and all the hardworking team who organise the event for even taking a ‘goo’ at my little blog in the first place.

Also the very best of luck to the all-female fantastic finalists in the Food & Drink Category!

Have a look here

Sheelagh x

 

 

